“En Druva i Solen / A Raisin In The Sun” at Riksteatern

By josetteBM, 2nd August 2016

A Raisin In The Sun / See Trailer: Here
Broadway Classics for family Youngers dream of a better life.

En druva i solen Scen Regi Josette Bushell-Mingo
Asha Ali, Anna Thiam, Adam Högblom och Kayode Kayo Shekoni / Photo: Urban Jörén

The United States is in transition, the African-American civil rights struggle is growing stronger and new opportunities seem to pop up. But it turns out that inequalities persist. Three generations living under one roof, and when the policy after the mother Lena’s deceased husband is paid out, dreams suddenly become reality. But how will the family use the money? Family members dream about different things, but thwarted by a structurally racist society.

The author Lorraine Hansberry was 26 years old when she wrote “A Raisin in the Sun”. With it, she became the first black woman to have a play on Broadway (1959), the first black playwright, the fifth woman and the youngest to receive The New York Drama Critics’ Circle Award for Best Play of the Year. “A Raisin in The Sun” is constantly updated. The play has won six Tony Awards as both play and musical. The play’s title comes from Langston Hughes’ poem “Harlem”: “What happens to a dream deferred? Does it dry up like a raisin in the sun? “Lorraine Hansberry inspiredNina Simone to write the song “To Be Young, Gifted and Black”.

In the National Theatre’s set, we meet eight actors, directed by critically acclaimed Josette Bushell-Mingo, artistic director of the National Theatre’s Silent Theatre. She has among other things worked for the Royal Shakespeare Company and nominated for the Laurence Olivier Award. She holds the title Officer of the Order of the British Empire.

Nordic premiere February 5, 2016 at the National Theatre, in collaboration with Dalateatern, Norrbottensteatern, Regional Theatre Blekinge Kronoberg.

Lena Younger: Kayode Kayo Shekoni
Walter Younger David Lenneman
Ruth Younger Anna Thiam
Travis Younger: Adam Högblom
Beneatha Younger: Asha Ali
Asagai: John Alexander Eriksson
George Murchison: Måns Clausen
Mr. Lindner Carl Jacobson
Bobo: Måns Clausen